Eight teams played in the inaugural ACC Women’s Tournament, and now eleven have confirmed their participation in the ACC U-19 Women’s Championship to be played in Thailand at the end of the year.

Bhutan, China, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Malaysia, Nepal, Oman, Qatar, Singapore, Thailand and UAE will take part. “This is all the more remarkable because Bangladesh, who played in the 2007 seniors’ event, are not playing at this level so we have four new countries putting up teams,” says ACC Events Executive K.K. Haridas. “I’m actually hoping that one more team joins the event as it will make for a twelve-nation event which will make the fixture-setting easier,” he adds. Iran have a flourishing women’s set-up and may just be able to field an U-19 team in 2008.

“What shows that cricket is expanding in ways which were not imaginable just a few years ago is the presence of four teams from the Gulf. Players and administrators in those countries are to be commended,” says ACC Chief Executive Syed Ashraful Huq.

ACC U-19 Women’s Tournament

Filed April 24, 2008