The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the details of the annual Pepsi ICC Development Programme Awards for 2014. The Awards, which have been running since 2002, form part of the ICC's commitment to promoting excellence in cricket development in the ICC's Associate and Affiliate Members. The Awards recognise innovation and exceptional service to the game.

Speaking on the Pepsi ICC Development Programme Awards 2014, ICC Head of Global Development Tim Anderson said: “The Pepsi ICC Development Programme is dedicated to the growth of cricket around the world. This past year has seen some remarkable success and excitement on the field for many Associate and Affiliate countries, and these performances so often reflect strong off-field support. The Awards therefore provide the ICC with an opportunity to highlight some of the outstanding initiatives, and some of the great people that are making a positive contribution to cricket’s global development,” he said.

This year, Awards will be presented across six categories, with a focus on outstanding individual contributions to the game.

Nominations are initially considered on a regional basis, with the various regional winners then progressing to the global stage. Further details and application forms are available here.

Nominations need to be submitted by 19 December 2014 to the ICC c/o the regional associations. The ICC will select and announce the respective regional winners by 25 January 2014, with these then also put forward for the global judging process that will take place during February.

The global winners will be announced on 2 March 2015.

All global winners will receive a cricket equipment grant to their national cricket body, with the amounts detailed below.

The Lifetime Service Award, Photo of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Women’s Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes’ winners will also be featured on the ICC website during 2015.

The awards categories are as follows:
  • Best Overall Cricket Development Programme ($5,000)
  • Lifetime Service Award ($2,000)
  • Volunteer of the Year ($2,000)
  • Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative ($2,000)
  • Women’s Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes’ ($2,000)
  • Photo of the Year ($1,000)

Afghanistan Wins Development Prizes, Thailand’s Women Win Too
Asia’s 2013 Development Winners

Filed December 12th, 2014