DSB, winners of the 2013 BCCB Twenty20 Cup

DSB are winners of the fourth BCCB Twenty20 Cup. They beat Tashas United into second-place following a closely-fought Super 4 round of matches in Thimphu. The ten-team event was the biggest yet so far in Bhutan and was sponsored by the Bhutan Olympic Committee as well as the Bhutan Cricket Council Board. Prize money almost trebled since the 2011 BCCB Twenty20 Cup, DSB pocketing Ngultrum 80,000 (US$1400) this time.

The 25% growth in cricket teams in the event represents the growing number of cricketers in Bhutan. There were 962 more cricketers registered in the country from 2011 to 2012, and with the women’s and youth teams registering regular success over the past three years, cricket is becoming increasingly established as a sport of choice in the country.

2013 BCCB Twenty20 Cup Player of the Tournament Tenzin Wangchuk being presented with his award by BCCB CEO and ACC Executive Board Member Jigme Norbu

Super 4s Points Table
P W L Pts Runs for Overs Runs against Overs NRR
DSB 3 2 1 4 378 53 335 59 +1.454
TASHAS 3 2 1 4 435 58.5 403 60 +0.677
BTCL 3 2 1 4 408 59 406 58.5 -0.024
DUNGKHAR 3 0 3 0 328 60 405 53 -2.174

The tournament’s Best Batsman was Basanta of Dungkhar, Best Bowler was Sonam Tobgay of DSB, the Player of the Tournament was Tenzin Wangchuk of Tashas United.

Bhutan Cricket Profile

Filed June 3rd, 2013