The new Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Ijaz Butt, is in line to become the 20th President of the Asian Cricket Council. He will replace the former PCB Chairman Dr. Nasim Ashraf.

Mr. Butt, 70, steps up from the PCB governing body. He has chaired Pakistan’s selectors and is a former Secretary of the Board during which time he served as the ACC Honorary Secretary from 1987-1988.

Mr. Butt played eight Tests for Pakistan between 1959 and 1962. “We are delighted that Mr. Butt has become our President. It has been a position filled with distinction by previous Pakistan Board Chairmen and the Asian Cricket Council looks forward to receiving the benefits of his guidance and leadership,” says Chief Executive Syed Ashraful Huq.

The Presidency of the Asian Cricket Council rotates every two years between the heads of the Boards of the Asian Test-playing countries. Pakistan's current term started in July 2008. The sequence is India - Sri Lanka – Pakistan – Bangladesh.

Filed October 9, 2008