ICC Media Release

The ICC Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC) met in London on 12 September 2011 for a routine meeting and adopted an ICC Development Committee proposal that a new 50-over League be introduced which will serve as the qualifying program for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. The top two teams in the eight team 50-over League will qualify automatically for the ICC Cricket World Cup and the remainder of the teams will be joined by the teams finishing third and fourth in the Pepsi World Cricket League Division 2 (the top two teams will compete in the new League) to decide the remaining two qualifiers. The event will take place at a venue and on a date still to be decided.

ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat said: “This will provide exciting context for the new 50-over League with every one of the Associate and Affiliate teams able to make their way from Division 8 of the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League all the way to the ICC Cricket World Cup finals.”

Pepsi ICC World Cricket League

Current ACC member countries’ standings in the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League

Division 1: Afghanistan, UAE
Division 2: Hong Kong
Division 3: Oman
Division 4: Nepal
Division 5: Bahrain, Singapore
Division 6: Kuwait, Malaysia
Division 8: TBC (1 member to replace Bhutan)

Filed September 13th, 2011