All the four group B teams of 2018 ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup, jointly being hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka, will be seen in action on the opening day on December 6 at Karachi.

In all, eight teams are participating in the tournament including five under-23 age level teams of Test playing nations and three top associate teams from Asia which are allowed to have four players above age 23 in their squad of 15.

The Group 'A' consists of Sri Lanka, India, Afghanistan and Oman while Group 'B' consist of Pakistan, Bangladesh, UAE and Hong Kong China.

The tournament kick starts with Group 'B' games commencing on the December 6 while the matches in Sri Lanka will commence on December 7.

Hosts Pakistan under-23 will take on Hong Kong, China at the National Stadium, Karachi and in the other match of the opening day, Bangladesh U23 will meet United Arab Emirates.

Pakistan emerging team led by Test cricketer Mohammad Rizwan, though not taking any team lightly, has his eyes on the final.

"We are expecting to be in the final in Colombo," Rizwan said in a media talk ahead of their opening match against Hong Kong China.

He said his team will not be taking any team lightly. "Teams like UAE, Hong Kong and Afghanistan can be dangerous as their emerging squads are not much different from the main team but we are confident of a good show here," he added.

However, he was delighted to be play at the home ground and in front of home crowd. "I am really delighted to be playing at home ground," he added.

"For long our home grounds were not actually ours but now steps are being taken and it's good to be wearing green at home," he said.

Foolproof security arrangements have been made for the event which will continue till December 9 in Karachi. The event will help Pakistan showcase the world that things has improved in Pakistan to host top-level cricket at home.

On the other hand, Bangladesh team that had security clearance before flying to Karachi found elaborate measure taken for their well-being. Bangladesh captain Nurul Hassan committed that he would be conveying a positive report back to his board.

"It's a nice place to play and I hope other teams would also start touring Pakistan. I will also tell my board about the arrangements made here," he said.

Hong Kong, China captain Aizaz Khan pointed out that his team is here to make an impact. "We have produced some good results recently and has the capability to surprise any team."

"We have played some good cricket recently and we are looking forward to a good competition in Karachi," he added.

Pakistan will playing United Arab Emirates in its second match on the following day on December 7 at the National Stadium, Karachi and Bangladesh meet Hong Kong SG Karachi. After a day's rest, on December 9, the event will resume with Pakistan and Bangladesh match at the National Stadium, Karachi and United Arab Emirates face Hong Kong China.

In group A, Sri Lanka will be playing Oman at RPICS, Colombo on December 7 and India to collide with Afghanistan at CCC, Colombo.

On December 8, Sri Lanka will clash with Afghanistan at CCC, Colombo and India with Oman at RPICS, Colombo. There will be a one day's rest in group A, which will then have the biggest match of the league stage between Sri Lanka and India at RPICS, Colombo on December 10 while Afghanistan will play Oman at CCC, Colombo in the other match.

After two day's rest, the semi-finals will be played on December 13 between the two top teams of each group and on December 15 the final will be played between the winners of the semi-finals at RPICS, Colombo.


Pakistan: Sahibzada Farhan, Zeeshan Malik, Ali Imran, Hussain Talat, Saad Ali, Khushdil Shah, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Rizwan, Ashiq Ali, Mohammad Asghar, Ghulam Mudassar, Sameen Gul, Musa Khan, Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Suleman Shafqat.
Team Coach Ejaz Junior, Team Manager Col. Syed Naushad Ali, Team Asst. Coach Mohammad Masroor, Team Official Saqib Faqir (Fielding Coach), Zubair Ahmed (Analyst), Saboor Ahmed (Trainer) Imtiaz Khan (Physio)

Bangladesh: Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Qazi Onik Islam, Md Shoriful Islam, Md Najmul Hossain Shanto, Md Zakir Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mohammed Saif Hassan, Md Mizanur Rahman, Md Shafiul Islam, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mohor Sheikh, Md Tanvir Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed
Team Management: Team Coach Champaka Priyadarshi, Team Manager Md Khaled Mashud Pilot, Team Asst. Coach Md Zafrul Ehsan, Team Official Kazi Habibul Bashar, Mohammad Saiful Islam Khan, Md Khademul Islam, Richard Stonier, Mohammad Salauddin.

Hong Kong China: Aizaz Khan (c), Aftab Hussain, Arshad Mohammad, Babar Hayat, Ehsan Khan, Ehsan Nawaz, Hamed Khan, Mohammad Ghazanfar, Mohammad Hassan, Nizakat Khan, Raag Kapur, Shahid Wasif, Tanveer Ahmed, Tanwir Afzal, Waqas Khan.

UAE: Rohan Mustafa (c), Muhammad Naveed, Ashfaq Ahmed, Fahad Nawaz, Rameez Shahzad, Shaiman Anwar, Muhammad Usman, Muhammad Boota, Ghulam Shabbir, Imran Haider, Tahir Latif, Ahmed Raza, Amir Hayat, Zahoor Khan, Qadeer Ahmed.


Tournament page

Filed December 6th, 2018