First match at Kinrara Oval today, and Malaysia goes against India, the six-time champion of the ACC Women’s Asia Cup. India won the toss and elected to bat first. At the fist over, opener Mithali Raj delivers a four; off skipper Winifred Anne. Ainna Hamizah takes the second over and takes Malaysia’s first wicket, dismissing Smriti Mandhana for 2. Pooja Vasrakar replaces and swings a four at the end of the third over, bringing the team up to 13 for 1. Pooja continues with another boundary at the following over, followed by Mithali’s four in the fifth over. 15 overs remaining, and India has mad 27 runs for 1.

Pooja swung yet another boundary at 5.4 overs. Pooja would have left Malaysia with a higher total to chase if she was not dismissed caught by Mahirah Izzati at 6.1 overs after making her 16th run. The following over saw another boundary for India by Mithali who then swung a boundary-six at 8.1 overs. Harmanpreet Kaur brings the team 60 with another boundary for India and a few more single runs in the same over. Another boundary to Harmanpreet Kaur ends India’s first half of their innings with 68 for 2.

Mithali remains unbowed, as she delivers three boundary-fours in the 11th over, followed by two more in the 13th. Harmanpreet pursues her partner’s efforts and swings two more in the 14th over. Into the 15th over, Mithali delivers another boundary. Harmanpreet was dismissed run out by Mahirah Izzati for 32 runs, ending India’s 15th over with 121 for 3. Deepti Sharma replaces.

Mithali swings four more boundaries in the following overs, and Deepti two more in the final over. India ends their final over, leaving Malaysia to chase a high total of 170 runs to win the match.

Pooja took her first wicket, dismissing Christina Nina for a duck at 1.3 overs. Opening batsman Yusrina Yaakop was next to go, after being dismissed caught and bowled by Shikha Pandey for 0 runs. Mas Elysa replaces but was unfortunately dismissed caught by Mona Meshram just a few bowls later for 2.

Malaysia’s attempts at making runs was again halted as India takes two batsmen out, thanks to Anuja Patil’s skillful bowling. Mahirah Izzati was dismissed lbw at 4.4 overs, followed by Intan Jamahidayu at 4.5 overs; both for 0 runs. 5 overs completed and Malaysia has lost 5 batsmen, with 158 runs left to win.

Player of the Match: Mithali Raj (India)

Sasha Azmi sparked hope for Malaysia as she delivers two fours in the 7th over, off Abuja Patil. Alas, she was dismissed run out by Shikha Pandey off Rajeshwari Gayakwad for 9 runs; at 7.4 overs. In the next over, Poonam takes India’s 7th wicket – dismissing captain Winifred with an lbw for 5 runs. In the tenth over, Zumika Azmi delivers a four for Malaysia, bringing the score up to 26 for 7. With just three batsmen still standing and 144 runs away from the win, Malaysia still pushed hard to score the winning run.

The 8th wicket fell at 10.4 overs; Noor Hayati dismissed stumped by Thaniya Bhatiya off Poonam for 0. At 12.1 overs, Pooja takes another batsman out - this time Ainna Hamizah walks out the field for a duck as well. The final wicket fell at 13.4 overs, dismissing Nur Nadhirah for 1, thanks to a run out by Poonam off Anuja Patil. India ends Malaysia’s innings with just 27 runs for 10.

ACC WOMEN'S ASIA CUP T20 2018: Sun 3 June

India vs Malaysia at Kinrara
India won the toss and chose to bat
India: 169 for 3 off 20 overs (M.Raj 97*, H.Kaur 32)
Malaysia: 27 all out off 13.5 overs (P.Vastrakar 3-6)
Player of the Match: Mithali Raj (India)

Tournament page

Photos by Peter Lim
Filed June 3rd, 2018