Malaysia won the toss and elected to field against their opponents today, Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka were off to a good start, with 5 fours and a six that shot the score up to 57 for 0 in just  9 overs. Yashoda Mendis, who contributed 5 of the boundaries was fortunately for Malaysia, dismissed by the feisty Sasha Azmi at 9.4 overs for 36. 10 overs down, and Sri Lanka had made 59 for 1. The second wicket fell after a run out by Noor Hayati Zakaria; dismissing Nipuni Manage at 11.4 overs for 20.

Into the 14th over, Hasini Withanage delivered another 4 for Sri Lanka, bringing the team their 76th run. Two more boundaries were swung later in the 16th over by Anushka Meegama and another at 17.1 overs that brought the team 100. She managed to deliver another boundary in the 19th over before she was dismissed bowled by Ainna Hamizah at 18.3 for 26. Nilakshika Silva was next to bat and she quickly placed another boundary for the team, bringing the team to a score of 118 for 3.

In the final over, Hasini Withanage trounced Winifred Anne’s bowling, swinging 3 consecutive boundary-fours – ending Sri Lanka’s innings with Malaysia to chase 137 to win.

Malaysia begins their pursuit with Yusrina Yaakop, who was dismissed at 1.4 overs by Oshadhi Ranasinghe for 1. Five overs through, it was clear bowlers Oshadhi and Sugandika were more than what Malaysia bargained for – no runs were made, and Malaysia stood with just 1 run still.  

As they made their slow ascend to 137, Nilakshika Silva took two wickets – Winifred dismissed bowled for 1 and Mas Elysa dismissed caught by Rebeka Vandort for a duck. Malaysia had scored 19 for 3 at the end of the 10th over, still 118 runs away from the win.

Player of the Match: Nilakshika Silva (Sri Lanka)

In the 12th over, Nilakshika took another wicket; this time dismissing Christina Nina for 14. As Malaysia hit 30 runs, another batsman was dismissed: Sasha Azmi left for 3, bowled out by Shashikala Siriwardana at 13.4 overs.

15 overs completed and Malaysia was at a staggering 33 for 5, and things did not get any better from there – a wicket to Nilakshika Silva, dismissing Intan Jamahidayu for 2 with a run out at 15.4 overs.

Zumika Azmi, as a final attempt; was able to swing a four at 19.4 overs, bringing the score up to 45 for 6. The last bowl of the match saw the dismissal of Mahirah Izzati for 10 by Shashikala. Malaysia’s chase ended at 46 for 7 - 91 runs away from winning.

ACC WOMEN'S ASIA CUP T20 2018: Mon 4 June

Malaysia vs Sri Lanka at Royal Selangor Club
Malaysia won the toss and elected to field
Sri Lanka: 136 for 3 off 20 overs (Y.Mendis 36, H.Withanage 32*)
Malaysia: 46 for 7 off 20 overs (N.Silva 3-13)
Player of the Match: Nilakshika Silva (Sri Lanka)

Tournament page

Photos by Vincent Phoon
Filed June 4th, 2018