Bangladesh encounters previous winner of the series; India, today. India won the toss and sent Bangladesh to field. Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj were India’s first batters. Mithali swung a four in the second over before Smriti was dismissed lbw at 1.4 overs by Salma Khatun for 2. Pooja took over and immediately swung another four for India at 1.6 overs.

Mithali swung two more boundaries the next over, before she was dismissed run out by Nahida Akter at 3.2 overs for 15. Pooja was joined by Harmanpreet and their boundary swings brought the team up to 70 from 26 runs in the first 9 overs. Bangladesh ended the partnership at 8.6 overs, thanks to Jahanara Alam’s throw to the stumps that dismissed Pooja Vastrakar for 20. At the end of the 10th over, India had made 76 runs with 7 wickets still standing.

The second half of the innings saw more boundaries to India. Harmanpreet and Deepti Sharma brought the team 100 by the 15th over. After Deepti swung two more fours in the 16th over, Harmanpreet was dismissed caught by Jahanara off Rumana Ahmed at 15.6 for 42. 4 overs remaining and India stood with 120 for 4.

The 18th over saw two more dismissals by Rumana Ahmed – Deepti Sharma dismissed bowled for 32 at 17.1 and Anuja Patil dismissed caught and bowled for 1 at 17.4.

In the final over, Jhulan Goswami was dismissed by Khadiza at 19.2 overs. Mona Meshram delivered the final boundary for India and one final run, concluding India’s innings at 141 for 7.

Player of the Match: Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh)

Bangladesh’s chase for 142 was off to a great start. Shamima Sultana and Ayasha Rahman made four boundary deliveries in the first 4 overs. Ayasha then delivered a boundary-six at 4.2 overs, before being dismissed caught by Taniya Bhatia off Rajehswari Gayakwad for 12. Bangladesh 29 for 1.

Shamima continued her spectacular batting performance, with four more boundary-fours in the 6th over. Pooja ended her streak when she dismissed Shamima for 33 at the last bowl of the over. Nigar Sultana took over but was dismissed bowled at 7.5 overs for 1 by Poonam. 8 overs completed, Bangladesh with 49 for 3, 93 runs away from winning.

Fargana Hoque and Rumana continued Bangladesh’s chase with 7 more boundaries, including a six from Fargana. The duo did not slow down from there – Rumana swung a four at 15.2 overs, and Fargana swung two more in the 17th over. The partnership brought the score up to 122 – just 20 runs away with 3 overs remaining!

The 18th over saw two more boundaries from Rumana, bringing the score up to 132. With just 10 more to win, Fargana and Rumana ended their chase just two bowls away from completing the innings. Bangladesh defeats the six-time reigning champion by 7 wickets!

ACC WOMEN'S ASIA CUP T20 2018: Wed 6 June

India vs Bangladesh at Kinrara
India won the toss and chose to bat
India: 141 for 7 off 20 overs (H.Kaur 42, D.Sharma 32; R.Ahmed 3-21)
Bangladesh: 142 for 3 off 19.4 overs (S.Sultana 33, F.Pinky 52*, R.Ahmed 42*)
Player of the Match: Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh)

Tournament page

Photos by Peter Lim
Filed June 6th, 2018