Bangladesh was one win away from meeting India in the finals tomorrow. To qualify, they had to win their match against Malaysia today. Bangladesh won the toss and sent Malaysia to field.

The innings began with batters Shamima Sultana and Ayasha Rahman. With the help of four boundary deliveries, Bangladesh was up to 27 runs by the 5th over. In the 8th over, Shamima Sultana delivered two consecutive boundary-fours off Sasha Azmi, bringing the team their 42nd run. The 10th over saw a soaring six from Ayasha Rahman who was then dismissed by Sasha Azmi for 31 at 9.5 overs. The first 10 overs ended with Bangladesh at 59 for 1. In the 14th over, Shamima Sultana delivered another four at 13.2 and brought the team 80.

The 16th over saw two dismissals to Winifred Anne – Fargana Hoque dismissed bowled for 7 at 15.3 and Shamima Sultana dismissed lbw for 43 at 15.6. At this point, Bangladesh had 87 runs and 7 wickets standing. The following over saw a boundary to Fahima Khatun, bringing a total of 95 runs with 3 overs remaining.

Sanjida Islam and Fahima Khatun swung two more boundary-fours for Bangladesh in the 18th over, bringing the team their 108th run. They did not slow down from there – the duo made 10 more runs in the 19th over, and another four at 19.1 and 19.2 overs before Sanjida was dismissed run out by Zumika Azmi for 15. The last few bowls saw five more runs from Fahima Khatun and then two more from Jahanara Alam; ending Bangladesh’s innings with 130 for 4.

Yusrina Yaakop kick started the chase with a four at 1.5 overs. Unfortunately, Malaysia loses an early wicket as Jahanara dismissed Christina Nina for 2. The second wicket fell at 5.3 overs, dismissing Yusrina for 11 - leaving Malaysia at only 17 for 2.

Player of the Match: Shamima Sultana (Bangladesh)

The 8th over saw two boundary-fours by Mas Elysa off Nahida Akter. She then swung another four at 8.3 overs, bringing the team 30. Rumana Ahmed took no risks and dismissed Mas at the following over for 14. Malaysia was stuck at 32 for 3.

Skipper Winifred Anne took over and swung a four at 10.3 overs, but was followed by Mahirah Izzati’s dismissal at 11.1 by Rumana for just 1. 12 overs down and Malaysia stood with only 39 for 4. Malaysia had to make 92 more runs with just 8 overs remaining, which seemed almost impossible.

Winifred delivered two more boundaries to Malaysia at the 13th and 14th over, bringing the score up to 48 for 4. The following over; Sasha Azmi was dismissed caught by Fahima Khatun off Salma Khatun for 4. Five overs remained and Malaysia was till 81 runs short from winning.

The 18th over saw Zumika Azmi’s dismissal for 2 by Nahida Akter. Malaysia lost two more batsmen in the 19th over as Winifred left at 18.4 for 17 and Noor Hayati at 18.6 for a duck. Only one over to go, and Malaysia was stranded at 55 for 8. The match was clearly Bangladesh’s to take home.

The final over saw 5 more runs before Khadiza Tul dismissed Ainna Hamizah for 1 at the last bowl. Malaysia lost their chance at getting their only win of the series with just 60 for 9, still 71 runs away from their target. Bangladesh will meet India tomorrow at the finals!

ACC WOMEN'S ASIA CUP T20 2018: Sat 9 June

Malaysia vs Bangladesh at Kinrara
Bangladesh won the toss and chose to bat
Bangladesh: 130 for 4 off 20 overs (S.Sultana 43, A.Rahman 31)
Malaysia: 60 for 9 off 20 overs (R.Ahmed 3-8)
Player of the Match: Shamima Sultana (Bangladesh)

Tournament page

Photos by Vincent Phoon
Filed June 9th, 2018